Unitarian Universalist Congregation of Rockville, Maryland

Home » Committees, Teams, and Groups

Committees, Teams, and Groups

Contact information for all of the lay leaders listed below may be found in the UUCR Realm Directory. Please report any changes or errors to uucr@uucr.org. Interested in leadership at UUCR, learn more about leadership opportunities and leadership development by clicking here.



Board & Congregation Chartered Committees


Board of Trustees

Betsy Wilder

Committee on Ministry 

Cita Furlani

Internship Committee

Bill Hurlbut

Personnel Committee

Viki Betancourt

Investment Committee

Steve Reed

Congregation Chartered Committees


Nominating Committee

Jaime Chao Mignano


Mark Shannon, Lay Minister

Stewardship Committee


Canvass Committee


Finance Committee 

Bill Newhouse

Planned Giving Committee

Sharrill Dittmann

Rental Committee

Norman Rave

Lay Ministry Council

Terrie Barr and Mark Shannon

Operations and Governance


Leadership Development Implementation

Terrie Barr, Karen Malley

Buildings & Grounds Program Area


Aesthetics Committee

Liliane Blom, Sharrill Dittmann

Buildings & Grounds Committee

Narcy Klag

Information Technology Committee

Bill Newhouse

Power Tool Gang

Narcy Klag, Dan Pierce

Gardeners & Weeders

Sue Hedges, Mary Lanigan

Landscape Committee

Irene Eckstrand

Fellowship & Hospitality Program Area

Julie Robinson, Lay Minister

Craft Group


Dinners for 8

Spencer & Nita Hines


April Pulvirenti and Jon Landenburger


Louise Friedenberg, Jo Wilson

UUCR Book Club

Jo Wilson

Literary Fiction Book Club

Marialyce Sherr

Young Adults Group


Faith Formation Program Area

Temporarily Vacant, Lay Minister

Adult Faith Formation Committee

Bruce Baskett, Interim Chair

Ellen Rohan, Lay Minister

Family Faith Formation Team 

Carla Miller Director of Religious Education

Membership & Communications Program Area


Denominational Connections

Eric Burch

Newcomer Classes

Adrian Graham, Director of Communications & Membership


Adrian Graham, Director of Communications & Membership

Quest Newsletter


Website Team


Social Justice Program Area

Chris Mennone, Lay Minister

Social Justice Committee

Mary Hoferek and Steve Eckstrand

Beacon House


Community Reach of Montgomery County


Environmental Action Group

Alex Tucker

Hunger Relief Task Group

Dolores Barnes

Immigration Action Group

Steve Eckstrand

Interfaith Works (IFW)

Kay Newhouse

IFW Women’s Shelter Meals

Kay Newhouse

LGBTQ Task Group


Peace Study Group

Steven Lapham

Racial Justice Working Group

Fran Lowe, Marie Reed, Nancy Spencer, Patrice Davis

Rainbow Youth Alliance

Stephanie Kreps

Unitarian Universalist Legislative Ministry of Maryland

Jack Taylor

Unitarian Universalist Service Committee


UUs for Social Justice

Sean McCarthy

Partner Plate Program

Sean McCarthy

Spiritual & Caring Program Area

Kent Hancock, Lay Minister for Pastoral Care

Pastoral Care Team

Jane Klag and Sharon Fitzpatrick, Co-chair

Small Ministry Groups

Rev. Rebekah Savage and Bonnie Bloomquist

Spirit of Life Sangha

Liliane Floge, Bob Campbell, Ethel Gilbert

Women's Open Spiritual Connection Group

Sahar Dawisha, Diane Baillie, Julie Robinson

             Memorial Committee

             Bruce Baskett and Kent Hancock, Co-chair

Worship & Music Program Area

Cynthia Shires-Thurston, Lay Minister


Sarah Jebian, Director of Music

Sonaria (women's ensemble)

Cynthia Shires-Thurston

Worship Arts Team 

Ginny Folsom and Scott Reilly

Music Committee


Sound Committee

Mike Holmes


Jose Clemente

Wheel of the Year - Spring, Summer, Fall and Winter Solstice/Equinox

Lisa Reed

Decorations Committee

Emily Untermeyer

Partially Updated October 2020


  • lifelong spiritual discovery
  • beloved community
  • a just world